Asian and Pacific Islander American Representatives, Senators, Delegates, and Resident Commissioners by State and Territory, 1900–Present

This table is supplemented by an interactive map of the United States and is based on information drawn from the Biographical Directory of the United States Congress. States are listed in alphabetical order. Names are followed by the Congress in which the Representative or Senator first took office.

The following states and territories have never elected an Asian Pacific Islander to Congress: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

The United States and the Republic of the Philippines signed the Treaty of General Relations and Protocol on July 4, 1946, to provide recognition of independence of the Philippines from American sovereignty.

State or Territory Name First Took Office Service
American Samoa
AS SUNIA, Fofó I. F. 97th (1981-1983) House
AS FALEOMAVAEGA, Eni F. H. 101st (1989-1991) House
AS RADEWAGEN, Aumua Amata Coleman 114th (2015-2017) House
CA SAUND, Dalip Singh (Judge) 85th (1957-1959) House
CA HAYAKAWA, Samuel Ichiye 94th (1975-1977) Senate
CA MINETA, Norman Y. 94th (1975-1977) House
CA MATSUI, Robert T. 96th (1979-1981) House
CA KIM, Jay C. 103rd (1993-1995) House
CA HONDA, Mike 107th (2001-2003) House
CA MATSUI, Doris 109th (2005-2007) House
CA CHU, Judy 111th (2009-2011) House
CA BERA, Ami 113th (2013-2015) House
CA TAKANO, Mark 113th (2013-2015) House
CA LIEU, Ted 114th (2015-2017) House
CA HARRIS, Kamala Devi 115th (2017-2019) Senate
CA KHANNA, Ro 115th (2017-2019) House
CA COX, TJ 116th (2019-2021) House
FL MURPHY, Stephanie 115th (2017-2019) House
GU WON PAT, Antonio Borja 93rd (1973-1975) House
GU BLAZ, Ben Garrido 99th (1985-1987) House
GU UNDERWOOD, Robert A. 103rd (1993-1995) House
GU SAN NICOLAS, Michael 116th (2019-2021) House
HI WILCOX, Robert W. 56th (1899-1901) House
HI KALANIANAOLE, Jonah Kuhio 58th (1903-1905) House
HI JARRETT, William P. 68th (1923-1925) House
HI HOUSTON, Victor S. (Kaleoaloha) 70th (1927-1929) House
HI KING, Samuel Wilder 74th (1935-1937) House
HI FONG, Hiram Leong 86th (1959-1961) Senate
HI INOUYE, Daniel Ken 86th (1959-1961) House
HI MATSUNAGA, Spark Masayuki 88th (1963-1965) House
HI MINK, Patsy Takemoto 89th (1965-1967) House
HI AKAKA, Daniel Kahikina 95th (1977-1979) House
HI SAIKI, Patricia 100th (1987-1989) House
HI HIRONO, Mazie 110th (2007-2009) House
HI DJOU, Charles 111th (2009-2011) House
HI HANABUSA, Colleen 112th (2011-2013) House
HI GABBARD, Tulsi 113th (2013-2015) House
HI TAKAI, Mark 114th (2015-2017) House
IL DUCKWORTH, Tammy 113th (2013-2015) House
IL KRISHNAMOORTHI, S. Raja 115th (2017-2019) House
LA JINDAL, Bobby 109th (2005-2007) House
LA CAO, Anh (Joseph) 111th (2009-2011) House
MI CLARKE, Hansen 112th (2011-2013) House
New Jersey
NJ KIM, Andy 116th (2019-2021) House
New York
NY MENG, Grace 113th (2013-2015) House
Northern Mariana Islands
MP SABLAN, Gregorio Kilili Camacho 111th (2009-2011) House
OH AUSTRIA, Steve 111th (2009-2011) House
OR WU, David 106th (1999-2001) House
Philippine Islands
PI LEGARDA, Benito 60th (1907-1909) House
PI OCAMPO, Pablo 60th (1907-1909) House
PI QUEZON, Manuel L. 61st (1909-1911) House
PI EARNSHAW, Manuel 63rd (1913-1915) House
PI DE VEYRA, Jaime C. 65th (1917-1919) House
PI YANGCO, Teodoro R. 65th (1917-1919) House
PI GABALDON, Isauro 66th (1919-1921) House
PI GUEVARA, Pedro 68th (1923-1925) House
PI OSIAS, Camilo 71st (1929-1931) House
PI DELGADO, Francisco A. 74th (1935-1937) House
PI PAREDES, Quintin 74th (1935-1937) House
PI ELIZALDE, Joaquin Miguel 75th (1937-1939) House
PI ROMULO, Carlos Peña 78th (1943-1945) House
VA SCOTT, Robert C. 103rd (1993-1995) House
WA JAYAPAL, Pramila 115th (2017-2019) House