Historical Data

Terminating Executive Order 9066/tiles/non-collection/A/APA_essay2_51_FordSigningTerminationEO9066_FordLibrary.xml Image courtesy of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library/National Archives and Records Administration President Gerald R. Ford, surrounded by Asian Pacific American Members of Congress, including Daniel K. Inouye of Hawaii, Patsy Takemoto Mink of Hawaii, Norman Y. Mineta of California, Spark M. Matsunaga of Hawaii, and Hiram L. Fong of Hawaii, signs a proclamation formally terminating Executive Order 9066 and ending the relocation program.
The following lists were developed to answer reference questions often posed by Member offices, researchers, and the general public. Twenty of the 63 Asian Pacific Islanders (APAs) who have served in Congress are current Members—17 in the House and three in the Senate. In total, there have been 60 APA Members of the House of Representatives and eight Senators. Five have served in both chambers.