Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

77th Congress (1941–1943)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 2 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 267 Democrats
  • 162 Republicans
  • 3 Progressives
  • 1 American-Labor
  • 1 Farmer-Labor
  • 1 Independent Democrat

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1940 [PDF]
Samuel Taliaferro Rayburn/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_rayburn_seated_2005_016_043.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
The longest serving Speaker in House History, Sam Rayburn of Texas presided over 10 Congresses as Speaker.

Congress Overview

Democrats maintained control of Congress and also the White House after President Franklin Roosevelt’s unprecedented election to a third term in 1940. The European war consumed Congress’s attention. The Lend–Lease Act allowed the U.S. to provide supplies to Great Britain, while the peacetime draft was extended by one vote in the House. But after the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor in December 1941, the 77th Congress (1941–1943) declared war on the Axis Powers. Legislation quickly followed to mobilize the country, generate greater revenues, and impose price controls.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 77th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Sam Rayburn (D–Texas)
Majority Leader:
John W. McCormack (D–Massachusetts)
Minority Leader:
Joseph W. Martin, Jr. (R–Massachusetts)
Democratic Whip:
Patrick J. Boland (D–Pennsylvania) 1
Robert Ramspeck (D–Georgia)
Republican Whip:
Harry L. Englebright (R–California) 2
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Richard M. Duncan (D–Missouri)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Roy O. Woodruff (R–Michigan)
Clerk of the House:
South Trimble
Sergeant at Arms:
Kenneth Romney
Chaplain of the House:
James Shera Montgomery – Methodist
Joseph J. Sinnott
Finis E. Scott
Lewis (Deschler)

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Died in office, May 18, 1942.

2Died in office, May 13, 1943.