Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

19th Congress (1825–1827)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 213 Representatives
  • 3 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 109 Adams
  • 104 Jacksons

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

John W. Taylor/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_taylor_miniature_2005_030_001-3.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
John Taylor of New York served two non-consecutive terms as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

The 19th Congress (1825–1827) aggressively opposed the new presidential administration of John Quincy Adams, who many believed had stolen the election from Andrew Jackson. The House chose Adams amidst the indecisive Electoral College count. But when Adams nominated Speaker Henry Clay to become Secretary of State, Jackson’s supporters howled that Adams had bargained his way into the presidency. Congress also refused to fund U.S. participation in the Panama Congress of independent states of the Western Hemisphere until it was too late, and more or less simply marked time before the next presidential election by voting down administration proposals.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 19th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John W. Taylor (D–New York)
Clerk of the House:
Matthew St. Clair Clarke
Sergeant at Arms:
John O. Dunn
Chaplain of the House:
Reuben Post – Presbyterian
Benjamin Birch

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section