Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

8th Congress (1803–1805)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 142 Representatives
  • 1 Delegate

Party Divisions:*

  • 39 Federalists
  • 103 Democratic Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Nathaniel Macon/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_macon_2005_16_5-1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
As a close ally of President Thomas Jefferson, Nathaniel Macon of North Carolina relied on the President’s support to win election as Speaker of House in the 7th Congress.

Congress Overview

The Louisiana Purchase was the first order of business for the 8th Congress (1803–1805). While President Thomas Jefferson raised a series of constitutional objections to the purchase, Congress brushed them aside and appropriated $15 million towards acquiring the massive land tract. Less successful was the partisan attack on the Federalist judiciary through the constitutional power of impeachment and removal. Though Democratic Republicans did successfully remove a minor district judge, the Senate acquitted Supreme Court Justice Samuel Chase, following the House’s impeachment of him.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 1st Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Nathaniel Macon (D–North Carolina)
Clerk of the House:
John Beckley
Sergeant at Arms:
Joseph Wheaton
Chaplain of the House:
James Laurie – Presbyterian
William Parkinson – Baptist
Thomas Claxton

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section