Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

84th Congress (1955–1957)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 232 Democrats
  • 203 Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1954 [PDF]
Samuel Taliaferro Rayburn/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_rayburn_seated_2005_016_043.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
The longest serving Speaker in House History, Sam Rayburn of Texas presided over 10 Congresses as Speaker.

Congress Overview

Democrats regained control of both houses of the 84th Congress (1955–1957), but support for Republican President Dwight Eisenhower remained strong. Amid another Cold War crisis, Congress provided the President with unlimited authority to keep communist China out of Taiwan. At home, Democrats focused on public-works projects including a national interstate highway system and an extensive dam project along the Upper Colorado River. Congress also increased Social Security benefits.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 84th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Sam Rayburn (D–Texas)
Majority Leader:
John W. McCormack (D–Massachusetts )
Minority Leader:
Joseph W. Martin, Jr. (R–Massachusetts )
Democratic Whip:
Carl Albert (D–Oklahoma)
Republican Whip:
Leslie C. Arends (R–Illinois)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
John J. Rooney (D–New York)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Clifford R. Hope (R–Kansas)
Clerk of the House:
Ralph R. Roberts
Sergeant at Arms:
Zeake W. Johnson, Jr. 1
Chaplain of the House:
Bernard Braskamp – Presbyterian
William M. Miller 2
H. H. Morris
Lewis Deschler

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Elected January 5, 1955

2Elected January 5, 1955