Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

83rd Congress (1953–1955)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 213 Democrats
  • 221 Republicans
  • 1 Independent

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1952 [PDF]
Joseph William Martin, Jr./tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_martin_2005_016_044.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Massachusetts Representative Joseph Martin served eight terms as Minority Leader and two terms as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

For the first time since 1928, Republicans organized both houses of Congress and the White House. An armistice in Korea eased the need for national security legislation, and the 83rd Congress (1953–1955) dealt little with foreign policy beyond a few political asylum measures. Instead, it created the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare; authorized U.S. cooperation with Canada in building the St. Lawrence Seaway; codified the internal-revenue code; and banned communists from holding any trade-union offices. Congress also addressed energy issues involving the distribution of off-shore mineral rights and the development of atomic energy.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 83rd Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Joseph W. Martin, Jr. (R–Massachusetts)
Majority Leader:
Charles A. Halleck (R–Indiana)
Minority Leader:
Sam Rayburn (D–Texas)
Democratic Whip:
John W. McCormack (D–Massachusetts)
Republican Whip:
Leslie C. Arends (R–Illinois)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Wilbur D. Mills (D–Arkansas)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Clifford R. Hope (R–Kansas)
Clerk of the House:
Lyle O. Snader
Sergeant at Arms:
Lyle O. Snader 1
William F. Russell 2
William R. Bonnell 3
Chaplain of the House:
Bernard Braskamp – Presbyterian
Tom Kennamer 4
Beecher Hess
Lewis Deschler

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Served from July 8, 1953, to September 15, 1953, to fill vacancy.

2Elected January 3, 1953; died July 7, 1953

3Appointed September 15, 1953

4Elected January 3, 1953