Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

7th Congress (1801–1803)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 107 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 38 Federalists
  • 68 Democratic Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Nathaniel Macon/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_macon_2005_16_5-1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
As a close ally of President Thomas Jefferson, Nathaniel Macon of North Carolina relied on the President’s support to win election as Speaker of House in the 7th Congress.

Congress Overview

Democratic Republican majorities controlled the 7th Congress (1801–1803) and approved the treaty with France that ended the undeclared naval war. The Judiciary Act of 1801 and the Naturalization Act (part of the Alien and Sedition Acts) were repealed. When news arrived that France had acquired the Louisiana Territory, Congress authorized $2 million with which the President could purchase New Orleans. President Thomas Jefferson also began a new precedent of submitting the Annual Message to Congress in writing rather than delivering it in person.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 1st Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Nathaniel Macon (D–North Carolina)
Clerk of the House:
John Beckley
Sergeant at Arms:
Joseph Wheaton
Chaplain of the House:
William Parkinson – Baptist
Thomas Claxton

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section