Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

6th Congress (1799–1801)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 106 Representatives
  • 1 Delegate

Party Divisions:*

  • 60 Federalists
  • 46 Democratic Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Theodore Sedgwick/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Sedgwick_2005_16_4-1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Massachusetts Representative Theodore Sedgwick served as Speaker during his final term in Congress.

Congress Overview

The 6th Congress (1799–1801) waited for news from its negotiating team in France on whether there would be war or peace. After its first session, the Congress moved from Philadelphia to Washington, D.C., in November 1800. In its second session Congress approved a major expansion of the judiciary that allowed for new court appointments up to the end of the Congress. Due to the presidential electoral tie between Thomas Jefferson and Aaron Burr, the lame duck House, voting as state delegations, chose Jefferson as President after 36 ballots less than a month before the presidential inauguration.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 1st Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Theodore Sedgwick (F–Massachusetts)
Clerk of the House:
Jonathan W. Condy 1
John H. Oswald 2
Sergeant at Arms:
Joseph Wheaton
Chaplain of the House:
Ashbel Green – Presbyterian
Thomas Lyell – Methodist 3
Thomas Claxton

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Jonathan W. Condy resigned as Clerk of the House on December 4, 1800.

2John H. Oswald was elected Clerk of the House on December 9, 1800.

3Thomas Lyell was elected Chaplain of the House on November 27, 1800.