Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

66th Congress (1919–1921)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 3 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 192 Democrats
  • 240 Republicans
  • 1 Prohibitionist
  • 1 Union-Labor

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Frederick Huntington Gillett/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Gillett_2005_016_037.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
A three term Speaker of the House, Frederick Gillett of Massachusetts  resigned from the House to serve in the Senate.

Congress Overview

Republicans regained control of both the House and Senate after the 1918 elections. President Woodrow Wilson’s dream for a League of Nations died when the Treaty of Versailles, ending World War I, failed in the 66th Congress (1919–1921). Congress privatized the nation’s railroads and merchant marine fleet. After decades of lobbying by temperance activists, Congress also approved the 18th Amendment banning the production, transportation, and sale of alcohol. Once the states approved the 18th Amendment, Congress implemented Prohibition with passage of the Volstead Act. Congress also sent the 19th Amendment, guaranteeing women’s suffrage, to the states for ratification.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 66th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Frederick H. Gillett (R–Massachusetts)
Majority Leader:
Frank W. Mondell (R–Wyoming)
Minority Leader:
James Beauchamp Clark (D–Missouri)
Democratic Whip:
N/A 1
Republican Whip:
Harold Knutson (R–Minnesota)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Arthur G. DeWalt (D–Pennsylvania)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Horace M. Towner (R–Iowa)
Clerk of the House:
William Tyler Page
Sergeant at Arms:
Joseph G. Rogers 2
Robert B. Gordon
Chaplain of the House:
Henry N. Couden – Universalist
Bert W. Kennedy
Frank W. Collier
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Clarence A. Cannon
Lehr Fess

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1For this period, there is no official record in the minutes of the Democratic Caucus or elsewhere of the name of the Democratic Whip.

2Elected May 19, 1919