Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

62nd Congress (1911–1913)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 394 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 3 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 230 Democrats
  • 162 Republicans
  • 1 Progressive Republican
  • 1 Socialist

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

James Beauchamp (Champ) Clark/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_clark_2005_16_36_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
James Beauchamp Clark of Missouri served four terms as Speaker of the House and three terms as Minority Leader.

Congress Overview

Democrats won their first House majority in 15 years and made gains in the Senate after the 1910 elections, as conservatives and progressives split the Republican Party. Louisiana Representative Arsène Pujo exposed reckless banking practices during a congressional investigation and spurred calls for financial reform. The 62nd Congress (1911–1913) sent the 17th Amendment for the direct election of Senators to the states. Other progressive legislation included a separate Labor Department, a Children’s Bureau within that department, and an eight-hour workday required for all federal contractors.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 62nd Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
James Beauchamp Clark (D–Missouri)
Majority Leader:
Oscar W. Underwood (D–Alabama)
Minority Leader:
James R. Mann (R–Illinois)
Democratic Whip:
N/A 1
Republican Whip:
John W. Dwight (R–New York)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Albert S. Burleson (D–Texas) 2
Republican Conference Chairman:
Frank D. Currier (R–New Hampshire)
Clerk of the House:
South Trimble
Sergeant at Arms:
Charles F. Riddell 3
Henry Casson
Ulysses S. Jackson 4
Chaplain of the House:
Henry N. Couden – Universalist
Joseph J. Sinnott
William M. Dunbar
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Charles R. Crisp

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1For this period, there is no official record in the minutes of the Democratic Caucus or elsewhere of the name of the Democratic Whip.

2Caucus records are contradictory for this period. They show the election of Representative James Hay as chairman on January 19, 1911, but do not mention a resignation by incumbent chairman Clayton, nor do they specify that Hay was elected chairman for the new Congress. Later, they show the election of Representative Burleson on April 11, 1911.

3Elected July 18, 1912

4Elected April 4, 1911