Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

58th Congress (1903–1905)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 386 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 176 Democrats
  • 207 Republicans
  • 3 Independent Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Joseph Gurney Cannon/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_cannon_2005_016_035.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
A 23 term Member from Illinois, Joe Cannon earned the nickname Czar Cannon during his four terms as Speaker.

Congress Overview

Republicans continued to control Congress, but the 1902 elections slightly eroded their House majority. With the retirement of Iowa’s David Henderson, Joseph G. Cannon of Illinois won election as House Speaker. The 58th Congress (1903–1905) enabled the Forest Service to better protect lumber reserves. In 1904, President Theodore Roosevelt announced his “corollary” to the Monroe Doctrine. This policy meant the U.S. would act to prevent European creditor powers from invading Latin American nations at risk of defaulting on their debts.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 58th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Joseph G. Cannon (R–Illinois)
Majority Leader:
Sereno E. Payne (R–New York)
Minority Leader:
John Sharp Williams (D–Mississippi)
Democratic Whip:
James T. Lloyd (D–Missouri)
Republican Whip:
James A. Tawney (R–Minnesota)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
James Hay (D–Virginia)
Republican Conference Chairman:
William P. Hepburn (R–Iowa)
Clerk of the House:
Alexander McDowell
Sergeant at Arms:
Henry Casson
Chaplain of the House:
Henry N. Couden – Universalist
Frank B. Lyon
J.C. McElroy
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Asher C. Hinds

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section