Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

57th Congress (1901–1903)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 357 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 151 Democrats
  • 200 Republicans
  • 5 Populists
  • 1 Silver Republican

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

David Bremner Henderson/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Henderson_2005_16_34_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
David Henderson of Iowa served two terms as Speaker before retiring from the House.

Congress Overview

Republicans retained control of Congress and the presidency after the 1900 elections, and Theodore Roosevelt became President following William McKinley’s assassination. Senate approval of a treaty with Great Britain led the 57th Congress (1901–1903) to authorize funds to build a canal in Panama linking the Pacific Ocean with the Caribbean Sea. Congress also revised plans for a colonial government in the Philippines and strengthened the federal government’s ability to prosecute antitrust violations.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 57th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
David B. Henderson (R–Iowa)
Majority Leader:
Sereno E. Payne (R–New York)
Minority Leader:
James D. Richardson (D–Tennessee)
Democratic Whip:
James T. Lloyd (D–Missouri)
Republican Whip:
James A. Tawney (R–Minnesota)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
James Hay (D–Virginia)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Joseph G. Cannon (R–Illinois)
Clerk of the House:
Alexander McDowell
Sergeant at Arms:
Henry Casson
Chaplain of the House:
Henry N. Couden – Universalist
Frank B. Lyon
J.C. McElroy
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Asher C. Hinds

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section