Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

54th Congress (1895–1897)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 357 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 93 Democrats
  • 254 Republicans
  • 9 Populists
  • 1 Silver

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Visitors' Gallery Pass/tiles/non-collection/1/1885VisitorsGalleryPass_2010_016_012.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
This 1885 pass granted access to the House Visitor's Gallery.

Congress Overview

Republicans resoundingly won control of both chambers of the 54th Congress (1895–1897) amid a deepening economic depression, but President Grover Cleveland’s fearless use of the veto, tempered the new majority’s ambition. A veto, for example, defeated an attempt to limit immigration to the literate. In response to Cleveland’s defense of the Monroe Doctrine, Congress approved an arbitration commission over the Venezuela-British Guiana boundary dispute. Congress also lifted the ban on former Confederate officials, soldiers, and sailors serving in the armed forces.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 54th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Thomas B. Reed (R–Maine)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
David B. Culberson (D–Texas)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Charles H. Grosvenor (R–Ohio)
Clerk of the House:
Alexander McDowell
Sergeant at Arms:
Benjamin F. Russell 1
Herman W. Snow
Chaplain of the House:
Henry N. Couden – Universalist
William J. Glenn
J. C. McElroy
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Asher C. Hinds

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Elected December 2, 1895.