Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

49th Congress (1885–1887)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 325 Representatives
  • 8 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 182 Democrats
  • 141 Republicans
  • 1 Independent Democrat
  • 1 National

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

John Griffin Carlisle/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Carlisle_2005_16_31_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
A three term Speaker of the House, John Carlisle of Kentucky resigned from the House to serve in the Senate.

Congress Overview

Democrats retained their House majority and won the White House for the first time since the Civil War in 1884, despite Republican gains strengthening their Senate majority. The divided 49th Congress (1885–1887) produced a substantial legislative record. It established presidential succession beyond the Vice President; authorized new space for the Library of Congress; reformed procedures for contested electoral votes; regulated railroad rates with the Interstate Commerce Act; replaced the Indian reservation system with citizenship in the Dawes General Allotment (Severalty) Act; repealed the Tenure of Office Act; and seized the Mormon Church’s property until it disavowed polygamy.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 49th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John G. Carlisle (D–Kentucky)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
J. Randolph Tucker (D–Virginia)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Joseph G. Cannon (R–Illinois)
Clerk of the House:
John B. Clark, Jr.
Sergeant at Arms:
John P. Leedom
Chaplain of the House:
William Henry Milburn – Methodist
Samuel Donaldson
Lycurgus Dalton
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Nathaniel T. Crutchfield

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section