Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

48th Congress (1883–1885)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 325 Representatives
  • 8 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 196 Democrats
  • 117 Republicans
  • 4 Readjusters
  • 3 Independent Democrats
  • 2 Independents
  • 2 Nationals
  • 1 Independent Republican

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

John Griffin Carlisle/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Carlisle_2005_16_31_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
A three term Speaker of the House, John Carlisle of Kentucky resigned from the House to serve in the Senate.

Congress Overview

The 1882 election produced a new Democratic House and a familiar Republican Senate. The 48th Congress (1883–1885) replaced Alaska’s military rule with a civil territorial government, passed the Second Chinese Exclusion Act, and stiffened the penalties for violating immigration policy. Congress continued to shift away from the civil rights legislation of the Reconstruction Era in favor of addressing America’s emerging industrial economy. Congress established bureaus of labor and of animal industry, and modified tariff rates to encourage American shipbuilding.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 48nd Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John G. Carlisle (D–Kentucky)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
George W. Geddes (D–Ohio)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Joseph G. Cannon (R–Illinois)
Clerk of the House:
John B. Clark, Jr.
Sergeant at Arms:
George W. Hooker
Chaplain of the House:
John Summerfield Lindsay – Episcopalian
James W. Wintersmith
Lycurgus Dalton
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Nathaniel T. Crutchfield

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section