Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

104th Congress (1995–1997)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 204 Democrats
  • 230 Republicans
  • 1 Independent

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1994 [PDF]
House Chamber/tiles/non-collection/C/Chamber_PA2015_06_0082.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives The House Chamber was remodeled in 1950 and updated with electronic voting in 1972.

Congress Overview

Republicans swept the 1994 elections and won control of both the House and Senate for the first time in 40 years. Speaker Newt Gingrich of Georgia set an ambitious course behind the Republican “Contract with America.” President Bill Clinton successfully vetoed Republican spending and tax cuts; an ensuing budget impasse resulted in two government shutdowns. In 1996, Congress and the White House compromised on an overhaul of the nation’s welfare system.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 104th Congress [PDF]
  • Official Alphabetical List of Members for the 104th Congress [PDF]
  • Official List of Members by State for the 104th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Committee Information

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Newt Gingrich (R–Georgia)
Majority Leader:
Richard K. Armey (R–Texas)
Minority Leader:
Richard A. Gephardt (D–Missouri)
Democratic Whip:
David E. Bonior (D–Michigan)
Republican Whip:
Tom DeLay (R–Texas)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Vic Fazio (D–California)
Republican Conference Chairman:
John A. Boehner (R–Ohio)
Clerk of the House:
Robin H. Carle
Sergeant at Arms:
Wilson (Bill) Livingood
Chaplain of the House:
James D. Ford – Lutheran
Chief Administrative Officer:
Scot M. Faulkner 1
Jeff Trandahl 2
Charles W. Johnson

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section

Legislative Activities

Roll Call Votes:
104th Congress, 1st Session (1995)
104th Congress, 2nd Session (1996)
Congressional Record (
Congressional Record for 104th Congress
Committee Reports (
Committee Reports for the 104th Congress
House Journal (GPO):
House Journal for the 104th Congress
Reports to be Made to Congress (GPO):
104th Congress, 1st Session (House Document No. 104-15) [PDF]
Legislation of the 104th Congress (
Bill Summary & Status for the 104th Congress
Résumés of Congressional Activity:
Résumés of Congressional Activity for the 104th Congress [PDF]
Public Laws (
Public Laws 104th Congress
House and Senate Days-In-Session Calendars (
Days-in-Session Calendars for the 104th Congress


1Resigned November 22, 1996. CQ Almanac (1996) 104th Congress, 2nd sess.: 1-20.

2Appointed November 22, 1996. "Congressional (Speaker) Press Release," November 22, 1996. Roll Call, 25 November 1996: 1; 16.