House Members Who Received Electoral Votes for President

Historical Highlight

Forty-one former Members of the House have received at least one Electoral College vote for President. Nineteen Representatives have served as President. Ten former House Members have received Electoral College votes for both President and Vice President in separate elections.

Only John Quincy Adams of Massachusetts (1824) served as a Representative after completing his presidency. Both Henry Clay of Kentucky (1824) and James A. Garfield of Ohio (1880) received Electoral College votes for the presidency as sitting House Members. Garfield was the only successful sitting Representative to become President.

The following chart identifies individuals who have received at least one electoral vote for President. Also included are dates of House service and the party affiliation under which they received electoral votes. Candidates who were successful in their election for President are identified in bold. Those who served as Speaker of the House are identified in italics.*

Note: Presidential campaigns where no former House Member received electoral votes are marked N/A.

Election YearIndividual (House Service)StateParty Votes Received
1788     N/A---
1796Thomas Pinckney (1797-1801)South CarolinaFederalist59
1808James Madison (1789-1797)VirginiaDemocratic-Republican122
1812James Madison (1789-1797)VirginiaDemocratic-Republican128
1820John Quincy Adams (1831-1848)MassachusettsDemocratic-Republican1
1824Henry Clay (1811-1814, 1815-1821, 1823-1825)1KentuckyDemocratic-Republican37
1824John Quincy Adams (1831-1848)1MassachusettsDemocratic-Republican84
1824Andrew Jackson (1796-1797)1TennesseeDemocratic-Republican99
1828John Quincy Adams (1831-1848)MassachusettsNational Republican83
1828Andrew Jackson (1796-1797)TennesseeDemocrat178
1832Henry Clay (1811-1814, 1815-1821, 1823-1825)KentuckyJacksonian Republican49
1832Andrew Jackson (1796-1797)TennesseeDemocrat219
1836Willie Person Mangum (1823-1826)North CarolinaWhig11
1836Daniel Webster (1813-1817, 1823-1827) MassachusettsWhig14
1836William Henry Harrison (1816-1819)OhioWhig73
1840William Henry Harrison (1816-1819)OhioWhig234
1844Henry Clay (1811-1814, 1815-1821, 1823-1825)KentuckyJeffersonian Republican105
1844James K. Polk (1825-1839)TennesseeDemocrat170
1852Franklin Pierce (1833-1837)New HampshireDemocrat254
1856Millard Fillmore (1833-1835, 1837-1843)New YorkAmerican/Whig8
1856James Buchanan (1821-1831)PennsylvaniaDemocrat174
1860Stephen A. Douglas (1843-1847)IllinoisNorthern Democrat12
1860John Bell (1827-1841)TennesseeWhig39
1860John C. Breckinridge (1851-1855)KentuckySouthern Democrat72
1860Abraham Lincoln (1847-1849)IllinoisRepublican180
1864Abraham Lincoln (1847-1849)IllinoisNational Union212
1872Horace Greeley (1848-1849)2New YorkDemocrat/ Liberal Republican3
1872Thomas A. Hendricks (1851-1855)IndianaDemocrat42
1876Rutherford B. Hayes (1866-1867)OhioRepublican185
1880James A. Garfield (1863-1880)OhioRepublican214
1884James G. Blaine (1863-1876)MaineRepublican182
1892James B. Weaver (1879-1881, 1885-1889)IowaPopulist22
1896William Jennings Bryan (1891–1895)NebraskaDemocrat176
1896William McKinley (1877-1883, 1885-1891)OhioRepublican271
1900William Jennings Bryan (1891-1895)NebraskaDemocrat155
1900William McKinley (1877-1883, 1885-1891)OhioRepublican292
1904N/A  ---
1908William Jennings Bryan (1891-1895)NebraskaDemocrat162
1920James M. Cox (1909-1913)OhioDemocrat127
1924Robert M. La Follette (1885-1891)WisconsinProgressive13
1924John W. Davis (1911-1913)West VirginiaDemocrat136
1956N/A- - -
1960Richard M. Nixon (1947-1950)CaliforniaRepublican219
1960John F. Kennedy (1947-1953)MassachusettsDemocrat303
1964Lyndon B. Johnson (1937-1949)TexasDemocrat486
1968Richard M. Nixon (1947-1950)CaliforniaRepublican301
1972George S. McGovern (1957-1961)South DakotaDemocrat17
1972Richard M. Nixon (1947-1950)CaliforniaRepublican520
1976Gerald R. Ford (1949-1973)3MichiganRepublican240
1988Lloyd M. Bentsen (1948-1955)TexasDemocrat1
1988George H.W. Bush (1967-1971)TexasRepublican426
1992George H.W. Bush (1967-1971)TexasRepublican168
1996Robert J. "Bob" Dole (1961-1969)KansasRepublican159
2000Albert Gore, Jr. (1977-1985)TennesseeDemocrat266
2008John S. McCain III (1983-1987)ArizonaRepublican173
2012N/A ---
2016Bernard Sanders (1991-2007)VermontIndependent/ Democrat1
2016Ronald Ernest Paul (1976-1977, 1979-1985, 1997-2013)TexasRepublican1
2016John Richard Kasich (1983-2001)OhioRepublican1


*Source: Guide to U.S. Elections, 6th ed., vol. 1 (Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Press, 2010): 835–891.

1No candidate received the majority of the Electoral College votes. The election was decided in the House of Representatives in favor of Adams.

2Received three electoral votes, but they were disqualified.

3Succeeded Spiro Agnew after his resignation as Vice President on December 6, 1973. Succeeded Richard M. Nixon after his resignation as President on August 9, 1974. Was never elected by the Electoral College to either position.