Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives


JONES, Ed, a Representative from Tennessee; born in Yorkville, Gibson County, Tenn., April 20, 1912; B.S., University of Tennessee, 1934; inspector, Tennessee Department of Agriculture, November 1934; Tennessee Dairy Products Association, 1941-1943; agricultural agent, Illinois Central Railroad, 1944-1949, 1953-1969; Tennessee Commissioner of Agriculture, 1949-1953; chair, United States Agriculture Stabilization and Conservation State Committee for Tennessee, 1961-1969; elected as a Democrat to the Ninety-first Congress by special election to fill the vacancy caused by the death of United States Representative Robert A. Everett; reelected to the nine succeeding Congresses (March 25, 1969-January 3, 1989); not a candidate for renomination in to the One Hundred First Congress 1988; died on December 11, 1999, in Dyer, Tenn.

View Record in the Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress

[ Top ]

External Research Collections

Tennessee State Library and Archives

Knoxville, TN
Microfilm: In the Tennessee Department of Human Services Commissioner's Office Files, 1909-1980, 4 reels. Correspondents include Ed Jones.

University of North Carolina
Southern Historical Collection, The Wilson Library

Chapel Hill, NC
Papers: In the papers of Daniel Augustus Powell, 1945-1983, 24 linear feet. Collection includes audiotape of Ed Jones's guest spot on MMC-TV's "Close-Up," August 24, 1969.

University of Tennessee at Martin
Paul Meek Library Special Collections

Martin, TN
Papers: 1969-1988, 121 linear feet, 252 audio reels. The papers of Ed Jones consist of correspondence, records and other documents relating to his congressional service. The collection also contains audio reels of Congressmen Jones' weekly radio program from 1969 to 1972 and from 1987 to 1988, photographs, newspaper clippings and artifacts.
[ Top ]

Bibliography / Further Reading

Ralph Nader Congress Project. Citizens Look at Congress: Ed Jones, Democratic Representative from Tennessee. Washington, D. C.: Grossman Publishers, 1972.

[ Top ]