Inspectors General of the House

Fast Facts

In its modern form House Rule II, which delineates the elected officers and appointed officials of the House, dates to 1999. A rule or clause governing these House positions has existed since 1789, and has undergone a number of revisions over the years, adding and replacing certain officers and officials and clarifying their responsibilities.

Download House Rule II (PDF).

The Inspector General of the House is a nonpartisan official appointed each Congress jointly by the Speaker of the House, the Majority Leader, and the Minority Leader. The Inspector General (IG) audits the financial records and administrative practices of the House’s Officers and joint congressional entities, providing periodic reports to House leadership.

The Office of the Inspector General was created during the 102nd Congress (1991–1993), as part of H. Res. 423, the House Administration Reform Resolution of 1991. The first IG, John W. Lainhart IV, was appointed and took office in November 1993. Through the 105th Congress (1997–1999), the Office of the Inspector General was reestablished at the opening of each new Congress as part of House Rule VI. Each subsequent IG has been authorized pursuant to House Rule II.

Inspectors General of the U.S. HouseTerm of Service
John W. Lainhart IV1993–1999
Steven A. McNamara2000–2005
James J. Cornell2006–2010
Theresa M. Grafenstine2010–2017
Michael Ptasienski2018-present

Sources: Office of the Inspector General, “Background and History,” (accessed 14 December 2018); Jacob R. Straus, “Office of the House of Representatives Inspector General,” 15 November 2018, Congressional Research Service.