Back to Results

Census of Arkansas Territory

Census of Arkansas Territory/tiles/non-collection/c/c_023imgtile1.xml
Image courtesy of the National Archives and Records Administration


William S. Fulton was appointed as the secretary of the Territory of Arkansas in 1829 by President Andrew Jackson, and he served as governor from 1835 to 1836. When Fulton drafted this census in early 1836, Arkansas was moving toward statehood. According to the census, in 1835, the territory comprised 52,240 “souls.” Fulton specifies that of those residents, 9,838 were “slaves and persons of color.” With 6,724 people, Washington was the most populous county, while Mississippi was the least populous with 437 residents. Arkansas became the 25th state in June 1836. Fulton and Ambrose Hundley Sevier, Arkansas’s Delegate to Congress since 1827, served as the state’s first two Senators. Archibald Yell was elected as Arkansas’s first Representative in 1836.

Related Subjects