Historical Highlights

The Committee on Homeland Security

June 19, 2002
The Committee on Homeland Security Image, Congressional Pictorial Directory, 109th Congress Nine-term Representative Chris Cox of California served as the first chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security before being appointed to the Securities and Exchange Commission by President George W. Bush.
In the aftermath of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the House of Representatives adopted House Resolution 449 creating the Select Committee on Homeland Security in the 107th Congress (2001–2003). Originally comprised of 13 Members, the committee was established in response to President George W. Bush’s request to create a Cabinet-level position and agency on Homeland Security. Christopher Cox of California served as the first chairman of the select committee. Renewed in the 108th Congress (2003–2005) by House Resolution 5, the select committee expanded its membership. Two Congresses after its initial establishment, Homeland Security became the 20th standing committee of the House on January 4, 2005. Prior to Homeland Security, the House had last created an entirely new standing committee during the 93rd Congress in 1974, when it authorized the Committee on the Budget.

Related Highlight Subjects