The following individuals and institutions generously contributed their time and expertise in the textual and photographic research for this volume: Germain J. Bienvenu, Judy Bolton, and Barry Cowan of the Louisiana State University Libraries Special Collections in Baton Rouge, LA; Nancy Brown-Martinez and the staff of the Center for Southwest Research, University of New Mexico–Albuquerque; the staff of the Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.; Jessie Kratz, Kris Wilhelm, and the staff of the Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.; Nick Linville, Southeastern Archaeological Research, Jonesville, FL; Deborah Mekeel at The State Library of Florida, Tallahassee; Richard Peuser and the staffs at the branches for Textual Records, Microfilm, and Still Pictures Research, National Archives at College Park, MD; John Phelps, Curator of the Florida Historical Capitol, Tallahassee, FL; Melissa Salazar and staff, Archives and Historical Services, New Mexico State Records Center and Archives, Santa Fe; Spencer Howard at the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library, West Branch, IA; Faith Yoman and the staff at the New Mexico State Library, Santa Fe; and the staffs of the Fenwick Library at George Mason University, Fairfax, VA; the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library, Hyde Park, NY; the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library, Independence, MO; the Lauinger Library at Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.; the staff of the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room of the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.; and the staff of the Local History and Genealogy Reading Room at the Library of Congress.

A special thanks is in order for experts in Latino studies and Congress who graciously reviewed and commented on the manuscript: Georgette Dorn and Tracy North of the Hispanic Division, Library of Congress, and Historian Donald Ritchie, Associate Historian Betty Koed, and Assistant Historian Kate Scott of the U.S. Senate Historical Office. We also thank Juan Manuel Pérez of the Hispanic Division, Library of Congress for reviewing and editing Spanish transcriptions.

We thank the supportive and collegial staff of the Office of the Clerk of the House of Representatives. Clerk of the House Karen L. Haas and Deputy Clerk Robert Reeves provided instrumental support. The Office of Communications in the Office of the Clerk designed the print and Web versions of this publication. For their collaboration and enthusiasm, we especially thank Phill McGowan, Communications Chief; Catherine Cooke, Manager of Integrated Communications; Mark Seavey, Senior Communications Designer; Chris Kelly, Senior Multimedia Developer; January Layman-Wood, Senior Content Developer; Kelsey Bensch, Content and Multimedia Producer; Malcolm Rouse-West, Design and Multimedia Producer; and Y. Michelle Haynes, Administrative Assistant. In addition, Government Printing Office designer Amy Ellis provided essential design support. We also thank Dale Thomas, Chief of the Legislative Resource Center, and copyeditor Marcie Kanakis for their help. The courteous and professional staff at the libraries of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate provided timely research assistance.

Lastly, we thank our colleagues in the Office of Art & Archives (OAA) in the Office of the Clerk for their help. OAA Chief and House Curator Farar Elliott and curatorial staff Karen McKinstry, Felicia Wivchar, and Britta Arendt vetted captions and credits related to artifacts from the House Collection. House Archivist Robin Reeder and archivists Heather Bourk and Alison Trulock provided information about manuscript collections, facilitated research visits to the National Archives, and acquired copies of rare images for this publication. Office Manager Selena Haskins and operations assistant Catherine Wallace performed the herculean task of handling project correspondence and keeping the writers on track while managing myriad other projects for the office.

Matthew A. Wasniewski, Historian

Co-editors: Albin J. Kowalewski, Laura Turner O’Hara, and Terrance Rucker

Co-writers: Jacqueline Burns, Erin Hromada, Kathleen Johnson, Kenneth Kato, Joshua Litten, and Barry Pump

Next Section: From Democracy's Borderland