Congressional Hispanic Caucus and Conference Chairmen and Chairwomen

Below are the Chairmen and Chairwomen for both the Congressional Hispanic Caucus and the Congressional Hispanic Conference. The Congressional Hispanic Caucus was formed in December 1976.1 The Congressional Hispanic Conference was formed in March 2003. From 1984 through 1990, the Chair of the Hispanic Caucus was elected in September, to correspond with Hispanic Heritage Month rather than the beginning of the new Congress. These Chairmen served for a one-year term, September to September. Beginning with Solomon P. Ortiz, the Chair served for a term that corresponded with a Congress. Although the elections almost always took place in the months before the end of the preceding Congress, the chart below does not include service that predates the beginning of a new Congress. For example, Ed Pastor was elected Caucus Chairman in November of 1994 for the 104th Congress (1995–1997).

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Chairmen and Chairwomen, 1976–Present

94th Congress (1975–1977) Edward R. Roybal (D-CA)
95th Congress (1977–1979)Edward R. Roybal (D-CA)
96th Congress (1979–1981)Edward R. Roybal (D-CA)
97th Congress (1981–1983)2Edward R. Roybal (D-CA) 
98th Congress (1983–1985)3
Robert Garcia (D-NY) 
99th Congress (1985–1987)4
100th Congress (1987–1989)5
101st Congress (1989–1991)6
102nd Congress (1991–1993)Solomon P. Ortiz (D-TX)
103rd Congress (1993–1995)José E. Serrano (D-NY)
104th Congress (1995–1997)Ed Pastor (D-AZ)
105th Congress (1997–1999)Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
106th Congress (1999–2001)Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
107th Congress (2001–2003)Silvestre Reyes (D-TX)
108th Congress (2003–2005)Ciro D. Rodriguez (D-TX)
109th Congress (2005–2007)Grace Flores Napolitano (D-CA)
110th Congress (2007–2009)Joe Baca (D-CA)
111th Congress (2009–2011)Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY)
112th Congress (2011–2013)Charles A. Gonzalez (D-TX)
113th Congress (2013–2015)Rubén Hinojosa (D-TX)
114th Congress (2015–2017)Linda T. Sánchez (D-CA)
115th Congress (2017–2019)Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM)
116th Congress (2019–2021)Joaquin Castro (D-TX)

Congressional Hispanic Conference Chairmen and Chairwomen, 2003–Present

108th Congress (2003–2005) Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
109th Congress (2005–2007) Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
110th Congress (2007–2009)Luis G. Fortuño (NP-PR)
111th Congress (2009–2011) Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
112th Congress (2011–2013)Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
113th Congress (2013–2015)Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
114th Congress (2015–2017)Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
115th Congress (2017–2019)Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
116th Congress (2019–present)Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)


1Additional research material for the Congressional Hispanic Caucus can be found at the following location: Congressional Hispanic Caucus Collection, Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20408,,

2In the 97th Congress, Edward R. Roybal served as chair from January to February 1981. Robert Garcia served as chair from February 1981 to January 1983.

3In the 98th Congress, Robert Garcia served as chair from January 1983 to September 1984. Bill Richardson served as chair from September 1984 to January 1985.

4In the 99th Congress, Bill Richardson served as chair from January 1985 to September 1985. Matthew G. Martínez served as chair from September 1985 to September 1986. Esteban Edward Torres served as chair from September 1986 to January 1987.

5In the 100th Congress, Esteban Edward Torres served as chair from January to September 1987. Albert G. Bustamante served as chair from September 1987 to September 1988. Jaime B. Fuster served as chair from September 1988 to January 1989.

6In the 101st Congress, Jaime B. Fuster served as chair from January 1989 to September 1989. Eligio (Kika) de la Garza II served as chair from September 1989 to September 1990. Solomon P. Ortiz served from September 1990 to January 1991.