Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

91st Congress (1969–1971)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 243 Democrats
  • 192 Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1968 [PDF]
John William McCormack/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_mccormack_2005_016_045.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Massachusetts Representative John McCormack served five terms as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

The 91st Congress (1969–1971) faced several daunting challenges: an unpopular war in Vietnam, race riots in the cities, a rising crime rate, and an economic recession. College campuses erupted in protest when President Richard Nixon ordered U.S. troops into Cambodia and escalated the Vietnam War. Congress defeated the President’s attempt to change welfare policy, and rejected two of Nixon’s nominees to the Supreme Court. As animosity mounted between the White House and Capitol Hill, Congress reorganized itself in 1970 to foster transparency with new voting rules, a new budget process, and a more professional staff.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 91st Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John W. McCormack (D–Massachusetts)
Majority Leader:
Carl B. Albert (D–Oklahoma)
Minority Leader:
Gerald R. Ford (R–Michigan)
Democratic Whip:
Thomas Hale Boggs (D–Louisiana)
Republican Whip:
Leslie C. Arends (R–Illinois)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Dan Rostenkowski (D–Illinois)
Republican Conference Chairman:
John B. Anderson (R–Illinois)
Clerk of the House:
W. Pat Jennings
Sergeant at Arms:
Zeake W. Johnson
Chaplain of the House:
Edward G. Latch – Methodist
William M. Miller
H. H. Morris
Lewis Deschler

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section