Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

75th Congress (1937–1939)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 2 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 334 Democrats
  • 88 Republicans
  • 8 Progressives
  • 5 Farmer-Labor

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1936 [PDF]
William Brockman Bankhead/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_bankhead_2005_016_042.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
A 12 term Member from Alabama, William Bankhead served three Congresses as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

Democrats maintained large congressional majorities, and President Franklin D. Roosevelt won easy re-election in the 1936 elections. Roosevelt’s failed attempt to pack the Supreme Court with sympathetic justices helped foster a “conservative coalition” of Southern Democrats and Republicans in the 75th Congress (1937–1939). The House and Senate continued to pass New Deal legislation, including farm and housing loan programs and new minimum wage standards. Congress regulated crop and natural gas production, civilian aviation, and food and drug ads. The rapid escalation of hostilities in Europe and Asia convinced Congress to create a “two-ocean” navy as war appeared increasingly likely.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 75th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
William B. Bankhead (D–Alabama)
Majority Leader:
Sam Rayburn (D–Texas)
Minority Leader:
Bertrand H. Snell (R–New York)
Democratic Whip:
Patrick J. Boland (D–Pennsylvania)
Republican Whip:
Harry L. Englebright (R–California)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Robert L. Doughton (D–North Carolina)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Roy O. Woodruff (R–Michigan)
Clerk of the House:
South Trimble
Sergeant at Arms:
Kenneth Romney
Chaplain of the House:
James Shera Montgomery – Methodist
Joseph J. Sinnott
Finis E. Scott
Lewis Deschler

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section