Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

73rd Congress (1933–1935)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 3 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 313 Democrats
  • 117 Republicans
  • 5 Farmer-Labor

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1932 [PDF]
Henry Thomas Rainey/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_rainey_2005_016_040.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Illinois Representative Henry Rainey served less than a year as Speaker of the House before his death in 1934.

Congress Overview

Democrats won the White House and the Senate, and added to their House majority after the landslide 1932 election. The 73rd Congress (1933–1935) passed an extraordinary burst of legislation to combat the immediate economic chaos of the Great Depression during President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s first 100 days in office. Congress regulated commercial banking, provided aid to farmers, and launched ambitious infrastructure projects. Other prominent agencies created during this period endure: the Tennessee Valley Authority, the Securities and Exchange Commission, and the Federal Communications Commission. When the courts struck down an unprecedented amount of legislation, Congress responded with more.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 73rd Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Henry T. Rainey (D–Illinois) 1
Majority Leader:
Joseph W. Byrns (D–Tennessee)
Minority Leader:
Bertrand H. Snell (R–New York)
Democratic Whip:
Arthur H. Greenwood (D–Indiana)
Republican Whip:
Harry L. Englebright (R–California)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Clarence F. Lea (D–California)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Robert Luce (R–Massachusetts)
Clerk of the House:
South Trimble
Sergeant at Arms:
Kenneth Romney
Chaplain of the House:
James Shera Montgomery – Methodist
Joseph J. Sinnott
Finis E. Scott
Lewis Deschler

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Died in office, August 19, 1934.