Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

69th Congress (1925–1927)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 3 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 183 Democrats
  • 247 Republicans
  • 3 Farmer-Labor
  • 1 American-Labor
  • 1 Socialist

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1924 [PDF]
Nicholas Longworth/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_longworth_2005_016_038.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
A three term Speaker of the House, Nicholas Longworth of Ohio began his House career in 1903.

Congress Overview

Republicans retained control of the Senate and White House and bolstered their House majority after the 1924 elections. Amid an economic boom, the 69th Congress (1925–1927) reduced a variety of taxes. President Calvin Coolidge vetoed the McNary-Haugen Act which would have established federal price supports for agriculture, but the Air Commerce Act, the Railway Labor Act, and the Radio Control Act promoted long-term growth in those industries. The Public Buildings Act transformed a substantial part of Pennsylvania Avenue in the heart of Washington, D.C.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774-2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 69th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Nicholas Longworth (R–Ohio)
Majority Leader:
John Q. Tilson (R–Connecticut)
Minority Leader:
Finis J. Garrett (D–Tennessee )
Democratic Whip:
William A. Oldfield (D–Arkansas)
Republican Whip:
Albert H. Vestal (R–Indiana)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Charles D. Carter (D–Oklahoma)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Willis C. Hawley (R–Oregon)
Clerk of the House:
William Tyler Page
Sergeant at Arms:
Joseph G. Rogers
Chaplain of the House:
James Shera Montgomery – Methodist
Bert W. Kennedy
Frank W. Collier
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Lehr Fess

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section