Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

67th Congress (1921–1923)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates
  • 3 Resident Commissioners

Party Divisions:*

  • 131 Democrats
  • 302 Republicans
  • 1 Independent Republican
  • 1 Socialist

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1920 [PDF]
Amplifiers Installed in the House of Representatives/tiles/non-collection/A/AmplifiersInstalled_PA2015_03_0044.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Under Speaker Frederick Gillett of Massachusetts, the first loudspeakers were installed in the House Chamber.

Congress Overview

Republicans retained control of Congress and captured the White House after the 1920 election. The 67th Congress (1921–1923) addressed the consequences of World War I by establishing the Veterans’ Bureau and setting country-by-country quotas to regulate immigration. Progressives created the Bureau of the Budget and General Accounting Office, regulated meatpackers and stockyards, and authorized funding for maternal and infant healthcare. Various treaties from the Washington Disarmament Conference established a new framework for U.S. foreign policy.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 67th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Frederick H. Gillett (R–Massachusetts)
Majority Leader:
Frank W. Mondell (R–Wyoming)
Minority Leader:
Claude Kitchin (D–North Carolina)
Democratic Whip:
William A. Oldfield (D–Arkansas)
Republican Whip:
Harold Knutson (R–Minnesota)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Sam Rayburn (D–Texas)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Horace M. Towner (R–Iowa)
Clerk of the House:
William Tyler Page
Sergeant at Arms:
Joseph G. Rogers
Chaplain of the House:
James Shera Montgomery – Methodist
Bert W. Kennedy
Frank W. Collier
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Lehr Fess

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section