Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

60th Congress (1907–1909)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 391 Representatives
  • 5 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 167 Democrats
  • 223 Republicans
  • 1 Independent Republican

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

U.S. House of Representatives in Session, Hon. Joseph Cannon, Speaker of the House. Stereoview/tiles/non-collection/H/HouseinSession_2007_101_000.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
This 1904 stereoview depicts Speaker Joe Cannon addressing the House.

Congress Overview

Republicans retained control of Congress after the 1906 elections. The 60th Congress (1907–1909) produced the Aldrich-Vreeland Emergency Currency Act, which armed the federal government with the tools to support the nation’s banks during financial panics and established a National Monetary Commission to review the banking and currency system. Congress also attacked the opium trade and revised the criminal code.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 60th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Joseph G. Cannon (R–Illinois)
Majority Leader:
Sereno E. Payne (R–New York)
Minority Leader:
James Beauchamp Clark (D–Missouri)
John Sharp Williams (D–Mississippi)
Democratic Whip:
James T. Lloyd (D–Missouri) 1
Republican Whip:
James E. Watson (R–Indiana)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Henry D. Clayton (D–Alabama) 2
Republican Conference Chairman:
William P. Hepburn (R–Iowa)
Clerk of the House:
Alexander McDowell
Sergeant at Arms:
Henry Casson
Chaplain of the House:
Henry N. Couden – Universalist
Frank B. Lyon
Samuel Langum
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Asher C. Hinds

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Resigned from post, 1908.

2Caucus records are contradictory for this period. They show the election of Representative James Hay as chairman on January 19, 1911, but do not mention a resignation by incumbent chairman Clayton, nor do they specify that Hay was elected chairman for the new Congress. Later, they show the election of Representative Burleson on April 11, 1911.