Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

53rd Congress (1893–1895)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 356 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 218 Democrats
  • 124 Republicans
  • 11 Populists
  • 2 Independent Democrats
  • 1 Silver

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Charles Frederick Crisp/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Crisp_2005_016_033.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Charles Crisp of Georgia was born in England in 1845. He served two terms as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

Democrats won control of both the 53rd Congress (1893–1895) and the White House after the 1892 elections, enabling them to repeal the Reconstruction-era Force Acts that mandated federal supervision of Southern elections. Party control, however, crumbled as the economy went into a sharp and deep downturn—8,000 businesses went bust in six months. And when champions of the gold standard responded by successfully repealing the Sherman Silver Purchase Act, Democrats split into silver and gold factions. Democrats also divided over tariff reform after Congress barely reduced national duties.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 53rd Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Charles F. Crisp (D–Georgia)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
William S. Holman (D–Indiana)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Thomas J. Henderson (R–Illinois)
Clerk of the House:
James Kerr
Sergeant at Arms:
Herman S. Snow 1
Samuel S. Yoder
Chaplain of the House:
Edward B. Bagby – Christian
Samuel W. Haddaway – Methodist
William Henry Milburn – Methodist
A. B. Hurd
Lycurgus Dawson
Clerk at the Speaker's Table:
Charles R. Crisp

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Elected August 7, 1893