Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

37th Congress (1861–1863)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 183 Representatives
  • 7 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 44 Democrats
  • 108 Republicans
  • 26 Unionists
  • 2 Constitutional Unionists
  • 2 Unions
  • 1 Independent Democrat

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

Galusha Aaron Grow/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_Grow_2005_16_24_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Pennsylvania Representative Galusha Grow served as Speaker in the 37th Congress.  He lost reelection to the 38th Congress, but returned to the House 31 years later.

Congress Overview

The Southern rebellion which followed Abraham Lincoln’s election to the presidency gave Republicans control of the 37th Congress (1861–1863). Congress, led by a vocal minority of Radical Republicans, backed Lincoln on nearly every legislative front: the southern naval blockade; the call for volunteers; the federal spending blitz; and the suspension of habeas corpus. Freed to act without Southern obstructionism, Congress passed a long succession of bills with far-reaching consequences for the country’s growth in later decades: the establishment of an Agriculture Department, the Homestead Act, the Pacific Railroad Act, and the land-grant college system.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 37th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Galusha A. Grow (R–Pennsylvania)
Clerk of the House:
Emerson Etheridge
Sergeant at Arms:
Henry W. Hoffman
Chaplain of the House:
Thomas H. Stockton – Methodist 1
Ira Goodnow
Messenger to the Speaker:
Thaddeus Morrice
William S. King
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
N/A 2

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1From 1855 to 1861 the local clergy in the District of Columbia conducted the opening prayer. Thereafter, the House has elected a Chaplain at the beginning of each Congress.

2No clear data for this period exist. Representative Hickman of Pennsylvania nominated Representative F.P. Blair as Speaker in 1861, but no records show whether Hickman was caucus chair.