Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

29th Congress (1845–1847)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 228 Representatives
  • 2 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 142 Democrats
  • 79 Whigs
  • 6 American

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

John Wesley Davis/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_davis_2005_16_17_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
John Wesley Davis of Indiana served one term as Speaker.  He later served Governor of the Oregon Territory.

Congress Overview

The 1844 elections gave Democrats control of the Senate, the House, and the Presidency. The 29th Congress (1845–1847) passed the second of two resolutions admitting Texas as a state and declared war against Mexico after a military clash in disputed Texas territory. Pennsylvania’s David Wilmot rekindled sectional fears after introducing a House amendment that would prohibit slavery in any territories gained from Mexico. The Senate blocked the spending bill with the Proviso attached, and approved the Oregon Treaty, which established the country’s northern Pacific boundary.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 29th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John W. Davis (D–Indiana)
Clerk of the House:
Benjamin French
Sergeant at Arms:
Newton Lane
Chaplain of the House:
William Henry Milburn – Methodist
William T.S. Sprole – Presbyterian
Cornelius S. Whitney
John M. Johnson

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section