Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

27th Congress (1841–1843)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 242 Representatives
  • 3 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 98 Democrats
  • 142 Whigs
  • 1 Independent
  • 1 Independent Democrat

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

John White/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_white_2005_16_15_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Kentucky Representative John White served his final term in the House as Speaker before becoming a district judge.

Congress Overview

The 1840 elections put the Whigs in control of Congress and the presidency for the first time. President William Henry Harrison died a month later, however, and John Tyler—the first vice president to assume the executive’s office in U.S. history—wasted little time before vetoing the Whig’s signature piece of legislation creating the Third Bank of the United States. The 27th Congress (1841–1843) also passed the Apportionment Act of 1842 which specified that a House district could only be represented by a single Representative.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 27th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John White (W–Kentucky)
Clerk of the House:
Hugh A. Garland
Matthew St. Clair Clarke 1
Sergeant at Arms:
Eleazor M. Townsend 2
Roderick Dorsey
Chaplain of the House:
Frederick T. Tiffany – Episcopalian
John Newland Maffit – Methodist
John W. French – Episcopalian
Joseph Follansbee
William J. McCormick

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Elected May 31, 1841

2Elected June 8, 1841