Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

103rd Congress (1993–1995)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 258 Democrats
  • 176 Republicans
  • 1 Independent

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1992 [PDF]
Thomas Stephen Foley/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_foley_2005_016_049.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Representative Thomas Foley of Washington served 15 terms in the House before losing re-election as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

Democrats controlled Congress and the White House for the first time in 12 years after the 1992 elections. The 103rd Congress (1993–1995) passed the Family and Medical Leave Act, and refocused away from its Cold War foreign policy with a law providing assistance to newly independent former Soviet states. As well, Congress approved the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT).

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 103rd Congress [PDF]
  • Official Alphabetical List of Members for the 103rd Congress [PDF]
  • Official List of Members by State for the 103rd Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Committee Information

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Thomas S. Foley (D–Washington)
Majority Leader:
Richard A. Gephardt (D–Missouri)
Minority Leader:
Robert H. Michel (R–Illinois)
Democratic Whip:
David E. Bonior (D–Michigan)
Republican Whip:
Newt Gingrich (R–Georgia)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Steny H. Hoyer (D–Maryland)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Richard K. Armey (R–Texas)
Clerk of the House:
Donnald K. Anderson
Sergeant at Arms:
Werner W. Brandt
Chaplain of the House:
James D. Ford – Lutheran
Director of Non-Legislative and Financial Services:
Leonard P. Wishart, III 1
Randall B. Medlock 2
James T. Molloy
William Holmes Brown
Charles W. Johnson 3

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Resigned January 10, 1994; resignation accepted January 21, 1994. See the Congressional Record, 103rd Cong. 2nd sess. (February 3, 1994): 282.

2A specific appointment date could not be located. For the approximate appointment date, see the CQ Almanac (1994) overview of the 103rd Congress: 13; and Roll Call, 17 January 1994.

3Appointed due to Brown's retirement. See, Congressional Record, 103rd Cong., 2nd sess., (September 20, 1994): 9227.