Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

102nd Congress (1991–1993)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 267 Democrats
  • 167 Republicans
  • 1 Independent

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1990 [PDF]
Thomas Stephen Foley/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_foley_2005_016_049.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
Representative Thomas Foley of Washington served 15 terms in the House before losing re-election as Speaker of the House.

Congress Overview

Democrats maintained their congressional majorities after the 1990 elections. Foreign policy dominated the 102nd Congress (1991–1993), which authorized the use of force in response to Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait and rapidly passed legislation to support future Gulf War veterans. The Senate ratified the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty which cut U.S. and Soviet long-range missiles and bombers by a third. Congress also approved a ban on underground nuclear tests beginning in 1996.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 102nd Congress [PDF]
  • Official Alphabetical List of Members for the 102nd Congress [PDF]
  • Official List of Members by State for the 102nd Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Committee Information

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
Thomas S. Foley (D–Washington)
Majority Leader:
Richard A. Gephardt (D–Missouri)
Minority Leader:
Robert H. Michel (R–Illinois)
Democratic Whip:
David E. Bonior (D–Michigan) 1
William (Bill) H. Gray, III (D–Pennsylvania) 2
Republican Whip:
Newt Gingrich (R–Georgia)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Steny H. Hoyer (D–Maryland)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Jerry Lewis (R–California)
Clerk of the House:
Donnald K. Anderson
Sergeant at Arms:
Jack Russ 3
Werner W. Brandt 4
Chaplain of the House:
James D. Ford – Lutheran
Director of Non-Legislative and Financial Services:
Leonard P. Wishart, III 5
James T. Molloy
Robert V. Rota
Michael J. Shinay 6
William Holmes Brown

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Elected July 11, 1991, but did not assume office until September 11, 1991.

2Resigned from the House, September 11, 1991.

3Resigned March 12, 1992. See, Congressional Record, 102nd Cong., 2nd sess., (March 12, 1992): 1224.

4Appointed by the Speaker on March 12, 1992, “to act as and to exercise temporarily” the duties of the Sergeant at Arms. See, Congressional Record, 102nd Cong., 2nd sess., (March 12, 1992): 1224.

5Appointed October 23, 1992

6Appointed March 31, 1992, “to act as and exercise temporarily” duties of the Postmaster; see, Congressional Record, 102nd Cong., 2nd sess., (March 31, 1992): 2070.