Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

100th Congress (1987–1989)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 435 Representatives
  • 4 Delegates
  • 1 Resident Commissioner

Party Divisions:*

  • 258 Democrats
  • 177 Republicans

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

  • Election Statistics, 1986 [PDF]
James Claude Wright, Jr./tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_wright_2005_016_048.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object
In his second term as Speaker, James Wright of Texas resigned from Congress in 1989.

Congress Overview

Democrats regained control of the Senate and held the House after the 1986 elections. Texan Jim Wright succeeded the retiring Thomas P. “Tip” O’Neill of Massachusetts as Speaker. The 100th Congress (1987–1989) reacted to several crises. The biggest stock market crash in U.S. history brought the Reagan administration and Congress together in a “budget summit.” Select committees investigated the arms-for-hostage arrangement now known as Iran-Contra. Congress also overrode President Reagan’s veto of the Clean Water Act of 1987. The House and Senate also traveled to Philadelphia’s Congress Hall to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 100th Congress [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
James C. Wright, Jr. (D–Texas)
Majority Leader:
Thomas S. Foley (D–Washington)
Minority Leader:
Robert H. Michel (R–Illinois)
Democratic Whip:
Tony Coelho (D–California)
Republican Whip:
Trent Lott (R–Mississippi)
Democratic Caucus Chairman:
Richard Gephardt (D–Missouri)
Republican Conference Chairman:
Dick Cheney (R–Wyoming) 1
Jack Kemp (R–New York) 2
Clerk of the House:
Donnald K. Anderson
Sergeant at Arms:
Jack Russ
Chaplain of the House:
James D. Ford – Lutheran
James T. Molloy
Robert V. Rota
William Holmes Brown

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section

Legislative Activities

House Calendar
House Calendar [PDF]
House and Senate Days-In-Session Calendars (
Days-in-Session Calendars for the 100th Congress
Legislation of the 100th Congress (
Bill Summary & Status for the 100th Congress
Résumés of Congressional Activity:
Résumés of Congressional Activity for the 100th Congress [PDF]
Public Laws (
Public Laws 100th Congress


1Elected June 4, 1987.

2Resigned from the post, June 4, 1987.