Congress Profiles

Choose which Congress to display:

28th Congress (1843–1845)

Congressional Profile

Total Membership:

  • 223 Representatives
  • 3 Delegates

Party Divisions:*

  • 147 Democrats
  • 72 Whigs
  • 2 Law and Order
  • 1 Independent Democrat
  • 1 Independent Whig

*Party division totals are based on election day results.

John Winston Jones/tiles/non-collection/s/speaker_jones_2005_16_16_1.xml Collection of the U.S. House of Representatives
About this object

Congress Overview

The 1842 elections gave Democrats control of the Senate, but the Whigs retained the House in the 28th Congress (1843–1845). Representative John Quincy Adams’s long crusade to overturn the House’s “gag” rule on anti-slavery petitions finally prevailed when the House struck down the controversial provision. Congress mandated uniform dates for federal elections. After the Senate rejected a treaty to annex the Texas Republic, Congress passed the first of two joint resolutions admitting Texas to the Union. The United States thus inherited the boundary dispute between Mexico and Texas.

Historical Highlights

See more Historical Highlights.

Member Information

  • Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, (1774–2005), Official Annotated Membership Roster by State with Vacancy and Special Election Information for the 28th Congress. [PDF]
  • Learn more about the House of Representatives with an interactive map

Learn more about the People of the People's House

Leadership & Officers

Speaker of the House:
John W. Jones (D–Virginia)
Clerk of the House:
Benjamin B. French 1
Caleb J. McNulty 2
Mathew St. Clair Clarke
Sergeant at Arms:
Eleazor M. Townsend
Chaplain of the House:
Isaac S. Tinsley – Baptist
William M. Daily – Methodist
Jesse E. Dow
John M. Johnson

To view complete lists of individuals who have served in these leadership and official positions since the 1st Congress, visit the People section


1Elected January 18, 1845.

2Elected December 6, 1843; dismissed from office January 18, 1845.